Each year at our Annual Statewide Convention, we honor women across the state for their dedication to the Democratic Party, to Illinois Democratic Women and the people of the State of Illinois.

Hillary Rodham Clinton Leadership Award

Nominee must be a current state, county, township, or municipal office holder.

First Lady. United States Senator. Democratic Presidential Candidate. Secretary of State. Hillary Rodham Clinton is an inspirational leader who has advocated for women, children, working families and seniors for decades.  She is continuously making history, cracking ceilings and fighting for everyday Americans.

In her honor, each year we award one office holder who embodies these characteristics and potential with this monumental award.

Eleanor Roosevelt Outstanding Democratic
Woman-of-the-Year Award

Nominee must be a grassroots activist.

First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt gave a voice to people who did not have access to power. She was the first woman to speak in front of a national convention, to write a syndicated column, to earn money as a lecturer, to be a radio commentator and to hold regular press conferences. She joined a circle of post-suffrage feminists dedicated to the abolition of child labor, the establishment of a minimum wage and the passage of legislation to protect workers.

She spoke up and fought for what she believed in, and each year, we honor one grassroots activist who embodies these characteristics.

Emily Taft Douglas Outstanding Legislator Award

Nominee must be a current state legislator.

In 2011, IDW created the “Emily Taft Douglas” award to a state legislator. She was the first female Democrat elected to Congress from Illinois, and her election made Illinois one of the first two states (the other was California) to have been represented by female House members from both parties. Douglas served as a U.S. Representative at-large from 1945 until 1947 and was married to U.S. Senator Paul Douglas from 1931 until his death in 1976.